Quality - made in Germany

Tools with this mark are guaranteed brand-name tools manufactured in Germany.

You will find this mark of origin on many tools manufactured in Germany. Tools that, piece by piece, are rightfully identified as "made in Germany".

Companies in the German tool industry represented by their trade association stand behind this mark.

Strict application guidelines ensure that only members of the "Fachverband Werkzeugindustrie e.V." (FWI) are permitted to use the mark "Deutsches Werkzeug – made in Germany" with their own brand.

A mark as good as a guarantee!

What does “made in Germany“ mean?

Germany is highly renowned worldwide as a production location. The sustained success of exporting German industrial goods is in large part due to the made in Germany "brand".

As an industry that grew and is rooted in Germany, the German tool industry benefits from this brand's prestige. Tools with the "made in Germany" mark of origin and quality continue to offer benefits for the user thanks to their quality, sophistication and innovative detailed solutions, thereby justifying their higher price. As a result, those companies that consistently continue utilising and building on these strengths in Germany – while correctly observing the conditions for using the brand in compliance with the rules – will have the best opportunities in the future.

The familiar phrase "made in Germany" that is in demand both domestically and abroad is an eye-catching, positive mark of origin that is usually applied to the tool itself. It has no relevance for customs law and is applied under the manufacturer's responsibility. Even though it has the character of a quality mark in the eyes of many customer groups, it officially constitutes nothing more than a geographic indication of origin that can be traced back to the "Madrid Agreement" of 1891. In Germany the rules of this agreement were integrated into the Act Against Unfair Competition (UWG). The UWG merely prohibits making any misleading statements to the consumer or user regarding the origin of goods. Yet the aura of this "quality mark" generally benefits tool manufacturers who emphasise their in-house production depth in Germany.

Even though the "made in Germany" mark is voluntary and not actually protected, there are rules for marking that need to be followed. Since "made in Germany" causes the consumer to have special expectations regarding product quality and reliability, what are known as "production steps that form the basis of quality" that need to be carried out in Germany are required for this eye-catching mark, in contrast to the value rules that apply for the origin of goods under customs law.

From the perspective of the relevant public, what are the production steps that form the basis of quality?

Criteria for tools "made in Germany"

Tools may only be marked with and promoted as "made in Germany" or with "Germany" if all production steps that form the basis of quality are carried out in Germany.

By the way, tool sets may only be promoted with "made in Germany" or "Germany" if all the tools they contain are manufactured in Germany.

The legal framework is initially established by Sections 126, 127 and 128 of the Trademark Act (MarkenG) (geographical indication of origin) and Section 5 of the Act Against Unfair Competition (UWG) (misleading advertising). Recently the perspective of the consumer has increasingly come into the focus of legal evaluation in case of disputes.

Qualität - made in Germany

Werkzeug mit diesem Zeichen ist mit Sicherheit Marken-Werkzeug aus deutscher Fertigung.

Dieses Ursprungszeichen finden Sie auf vielen Werkzeugen deutscher Herstellung - auf Werkzeugen, die garantiert Stück für Stück zu Recht die Auszeichnung „Made in Germany“ tragen.

Hinter diesem Zeichen stehen Unternehmen der deutschen Werkzeugindustrie, vertreten durch ihren Fachverband.

Strenge Anwendungsrichtlinien stellen sicher, dass nur Mitglieder des Fachverbandes Werkzeugindustrie e.V. FWI das Ursprungszeichen „Deutsches Werkzeug — made in Germany“ mit ihrer Eigenmarke verwenden dürfen.

Ein Zeichen — so gut wie eine Garantie!

Was bedeutet „made in Germany“?

Der Produktionsstandort Deutschland besitzt weltweit hohes Ansehen. Der nachhaltige Exporterfolg deutscher Industriewaren ist nicht zuletzt eine Folge der „Marke“ „made in Germany“.

Die deutsche Werkzeugindustrie, als eine in Deutschland gewachsene und verwurzelte Industrie, profitiert vom weltweiten Ansehen dieser Marke. Denn Werkzeuge mit dem Herkunfts- und Gütesiegel "made in Germany" bieten durch ihre Qualität, Ausgereiftheit und innovativen Detaillösungen dem Anwender nach wie vor Vorteile und rechtfertigen so ihren Mehrpreis. Zukunftschancen werden daher gerade diejenigen Unternehmen haben, die diese Stärken weiterhin konsequent am Standort Deutschland nutzen und ausbauen - und dabei die Bedingungen zur Verwendung der Marke korrekt und regelkonform beachten.

Bei dem bekannten und sowohl im Inland als auch im Ausland nachgefragten “made in Germany“ handelt es sich um eine plakative positive Ursprungskennzeichnung, die in der Regel auf dem Werkzeug selbst angebracht wird. Sie hat keine zollrechtliche Relevanz und erfolgt auf eigene Verantwortung des Herstellers. Obwohl sie in den Augen vieler Kundenkreise den Charakter einer Qualitätskennzeichnung hat, ist sie offiziell lediglich eine geographische Herkunftsangabe, die in Analogie auf das “Madrider Abkommen“ von 1891 zurückgeht. In Deutschland sind die Regeln dieses Abkommens in das „Gesetz gegen den unlauteren Wettbewerb“ (UWG) integriert worden. Das UWG gibt lediglich vor, dass gegenüber dem Verbraucher oder dem Nutzer keine irreführenden Angaben über die Herkunft der Güter gemacht werden dürfen. Doch von dem Nimbus dieses “Qualitätszeichens“ profitieren i. d. R. Werkzeughersteller, die im Wesentlichen auf ihre Fertigungstiefe in Deutschland Wert legen.

Obwohl die Kennzeichnung mit “made in Germany“ freiwillig und eigentlich nicht geschützt ist, müssen dennoch Kennzeichnungsregeln eingehalten werden. Da "made in Germany" beim Verbraucher besondere Erwartungen bezüglich der Produktqualität und der Zuverlässigkeit weckt, kommt es im Gegensatz zu den zollrechtlichen Warenursprüngen bei der plakativen Auszeichnung nicht auf Wertregeln, sondern gemeinhin auf die sogenannten “qualitätsbegründenden Arbeitsschritte“ an, die in Deutschland vollzogen werden müssen.

Was sind nun aus Sicht der beteiligten Verkehrskreise qualitätsbegründende Arbeitsschritte bei Handwerkzeugen?

Kriterien für „made in Germany“ bei Werkzeugen

Werkzeuge dürfen nur dann mit „made in Germany“ bzw. „Germany“ gekennzeichnet und beworben werden, wenn alle qualitätsbegründenden Arbeitsgänge zu ihrer Herstellung in Deutschland ausgeführt worden sind.

Werkzeugsätze dürfen übrigens nur dann mit „made in Germany“ oder „Germany“ beworben werden, wenn alle enthaltenen Werkzeuge aus deutscher Fertigung stammen.

Der rechtliche Rahmen ergibt sich zunächst aus §§ 126, 127 und 128 Markengesetz (Geographische Herkunftsangaben) und § 5 UWG (Irreführende Werbung). In Streitfällen rückt in jüngster Zeit mehr und mehr die Sicht des Verbrauchers in den Fokus der rechtlichen Beurteilung.